HOME TOUR: LIVING ROOM


Before I have a permanent boy roommate, I will be sharing my duplex in Winter Park, Florida for your viewing. Sometimes you just need to light all your candles, take out your camera and snap some photos.


  
Special Moments//Reading Nook//

Butterflies – I procured these during my travel to the Peruvian Amazon roughly between the ages of 13-16. Once hanging above my teenage ned they overheard many sleepover secret about dream boys, dream careers and dream lives. They now found a home in my new place where they can now witness all of those hushed words between girlfriends come true. Just like these butterflies, Peru holds a special place in my heart and I hope to travel for missions again to this beautiful country. // Diploma-this is meant front a center; it’s an expensive piece of paper, earned through sleepless nights with my design woman hunched over our computers for projects due at 8 a.m. Instead of paying a hundred-dollar$ on a frame, I purchased a simple black frame from Target. It looks just as good, for a lot less. // Gold frame – last season Target. I loved the geometric pattern and scale of this frame. Target is my jam.  // Brass&glass vase and brass geometric dish – Covet Home & Apparel, now  Covet Apparel. Many speculate about the trend of brass. Will it go back out? In my book, brass is my favorite color. I can dress it down with silver or dress it up with glass. // Books, books books- I am a collector and cannot wait to have a large library one day. This is just the beginning, but one book at a time I plan on being quite the competition for the libraries that fill my magazines. I have a mix between magazines, coffee table books that I read every word to, design books, Christian/self improvement books and my beautiful Anna Bond illustrated books. I will be adding her newly illustrated book to my collection sooner than later. Check out my Amazon Wish List of over 200 books. //  Brass pineapple. Pineapples are a symbol of hospitality and I love my home filled with loud voices and happy people.  // Wood pineapple found at Plain & Fancy. // Handmade elephant by Amani ya Juu from my mission work in Kenya. Constant reminders are important. This elephant serves as a reminder of my trips to Kenya. It’s colorful pattern and petite manor bring to mind the orphans smiles, joyful spirit and hope for the future. // Essential oil candle-White Hyssop, Clary Sage, and Peppermint Jar Candle for Clarity // Purity // Calmness via @Etsy. I have just started my own personal essential oil journey. Stay tuned. // Dried flower crown for my bridal portraits by Rachel with Stems and Things. //

 

  
 Special Moments//Sofa//

Painting by Kayla Adamik. // Rooms 2 Go microfiber sofa I purchased from a family friend. // Gold pillow from Target. // Orchid- I am a firm believer in fresh flowers. I now have 3 orchids and I hope to keep them all alive for a very long time. // Side table purchased at an antique store somewhere.. The Hollywood Regency style adds to my love for the color and texture of this bamboo table, this was my first purchase for my home and it has dictated many of my design choices. // Pineapple lamp purchased by my beloved Bracken on Etsy. // Capri Blue Jar Candle – Volcano, best smelling candle. Lighting this candle and closing your eyes is pure bliss. // SUBSCRIBE TO MAGAZINES FOCUSING ON YOUR PASSION. I have 3 subscriptions: Architectural Digest, Veranda and House Beautiful. Over the years I have had to cut down to these three and they fulfill my needs, subscriptions are much more affordable than buying each issue. // Bridal party invite from Minted, that BOTH my hosts wanted to use simultaneously (Kelsi reads my mind..).//

I love my little duplex. It’s important to let your home express YOU – but also be realistic. There is much more you can do within your budget if you keep your eyes out for treasures that fit together like puzzle pieces. I did not paint my walls and I acquired my accessories over time.

What accessory should I be on the look out for next? Let me know if you enjoyed my blog post and share!

 

Xoxo-A

Leave a comment

Filed under D.I.Y. project, Favorite Things, Interior Design

Leave a Reply

